PDA

View Full Version : clown not doing to good. I think

seaker
03/01/2004, 12:53 AM
I put this in the l.a. forum. I thought I was here. my black ocellaris isn't doing to good. he's been in the same spot for over 9 hours. he is in the left top corner of my 12 gal nano cube. he is swimming at a 45 degree angle. His fins and tail are moving pretty fast but he isn't going anywhere. I turned out the lights a few hours ago and he did swim around a little but now he's right back where he was doing the same thing. I put some frozen krill in there earlier but he just sucked it in and spit it back out. Is this normal for a clown. I don't want him to die. what can I do. I did a gal and a half water change. I don't know the ammonia level, test went bad.
nitrite 0
nitrate 20
ph 8.4
temp 82
I also have a cleaner shrimp and a red head goby and they seem to be doing fine. the shrimp ate the krill the clown didn't want. I did drip acclimate him for over 4 hours. I'm a newbie. what can I do to save my clown if this isn't normal behavior?

seaker
03/01/2004, 12:55 AM
I forgot to add that he is right at the surface. It's like he's touching the side and the top at the same time.

dacoolguychris
03/01/2004, 12:56 AM
this is normal behavior.. in a new tank they are scared.. so they tend to find a spot and "hide".. until they get used to their surroundings..

he might have been feed somethign different @ the place you got him from.. so he's not used to the food yet.. he'll come around.. just be patient..

-Chris (dacoolguy)

nanocat
03/01/2004, 01:01 AM
Hard to say at this point. He could just be getting used to the new tank. It's only been a day and he's still insecure. As long as he isn't breathing super heavy (looks like panting), or showing signs of infection or parasites, I'd just keep an eye on him. Your nitrates are a little high for a nanocube. How long has this been set up?