PDA

View Full Version : I am such a newbie, but what exactly is Detrius?

Prunella
02/29/2004, 09:52 AM
I am such an extreme newbie here....and I really hated to ask the question, although I have an idea of what it is. I was just wondering if someone may enlighten me? I love this site and have learned so much and am now more confused then ever!:D
I have a very small tank that my husband bought me for a gift (he really doesn't know what he started though:D). I am now trying to learn all that I can so that ONE day I can have a much larger REEF tan, they are so beutiful and I hope that I can have one as such one day. But I think it will take me a while because I really want to understand what some of the equipment is and what it is used for. I accept any and all information and is truly appreciated. I've already learned so much just from reading.

Thank You!
Prunella

SunDragon
02/29/2004, 10:00 AM
fish poo, or other decomposing organic material in the tank

DgenR8
02/29/2004, 10:01 AM
Hi Prunella,
[welcome]

The definition most hobbyists use for detritus is organic waste. Left over food, food that's been partially processed by one animal, leaving something still edible for a different animal. Basically, just food waste in one form or another.

Prunella
02/29/2004, 10:14 AM
Thanks so much Larry and Steven for your response! I have this purplish "stuff" growing on my substrate for the last several day. any ideas what this may be? It looks like a film of some sort.

Thanks again!
Prunella

SunDragon
02/29/2004, 10:37 AM
Sounds like Cyano. You can use the Search button on the top of the page to search for more info on it. Theres tons written out there, no need for me to repeat it here.

adiver
02/29/2004, 10:41 AM
may be coralline alge "good stuff"

adiver
02/29/2004, 10:42 AM
soory missed substrate, Most likely cyano

DgenR8
02/29/2004, 10:44 AM