PDA

View Full Version : DIY Chiller

TKO
02/10/2004, 07:03 PM
Ok, I know this may have been covered here at some point but I could not find it.

My background is in HVAC as a Mechanical Engineer so I thought I would visit the idea of making my own chiller for a newly set up tank I have. It wasn't the money end of it for a new chiller so much as the, "I can do this" side of my ego.

My new tank is a 125 with about a 30gal sump. about a week ago after I completed the set up of the tank and under full load of Lighting and all the pumps it is running a steady 93deg.

My goal was to have this tank under full load and cool it down to and maintain at 76deg.
I had a few hours today to play around with the idea and this is what I have come up with so far.

I went to a buddies house and picked up an old 6000BTU (ie. 1/2hp) window unit that had been sitting in his garage for a few years.

Time for a beer

I took it home and striped the front off it. There were 2 copper lines runing into the evapoator coil. 1 was a small cap tube line that meters the amount of freon through the coil and the other was a 5/16 line that runs back to the compressor.

Time for a beer

I cut these 2 lines at the evaporator coil and removed the evporator coil from the unit.

Time for a beer

Next I took a look at the fan motor. This unit is like most other window units, in that it only had one motor with the shaft coming out on both ends. One side for the blower section and one side for the condensor section. I took my hack saw and cut the shaft off of the blower side as close the motor as I could. At this point I was left with a compressor, condersor coil and condensor fan motor and the original controls.

Another beer

I then sat few about an hour (drinking beer) and thought of how to get this to cool the tank and came up with several idea's. I decided to go with a drop in coil in a manner of speaking and I headed off to Home Depot to get the items I thought I would need.