PDA

View Full Version : jaubert plenum setup

ericfetiveau
02/06/2004, 07:07 PM
Hi all,
I write this thread from france, so sorry for my english.

I am new in this hobby, and i want to setup a jaubert's style aquarium. I read info since 4 months on the jaubert's system, but i can't find the setup:
-sometimes you can use sand 1-2mm, and sometime nat smaller than 2mm, what is the good size?
-do not put rocks on more than 30,25% of the surface, and sometime put the rocks on PVC over the sand.
-use a skimmer, do not use a skimmer

what is the jaubert's setup? is ther someone who had seen the patent (brevet in french)?

I need some help.

Thanks

Bomber
02/06/2004, 07:33 PM
Eric

These are two excellent threads on Jaubert's plenum. The threads describe everything about setting up plenums.

http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=745

http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=26603&highlight=Jaubert

ericfetiveau
02/08/2004, 09:36 AM
Thanks for the reply.

But what type of sand we can use in a plenum?

What are the etapes for setup a jaubert's system. I can't find the documents writern by Jaubert himself.

All people are agree for saying that a jaubert's system work well when it is well setup, but waht's the good setup?

Thanks

Eric

Bomber
02/08/2004, 09:51 AM
Eric

How close are you to Paris? The Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle has his papers.

hdtran
02/08/2004, 11:21 AM
There's an article about the Jaubert system in the archives of "Advanced Aquarist Online." Very good article there.

If you can stand to navigate the "GARF" website, they have a good description as to how to build one (bulletproof reef setup, I think).

To answer your questions re: substrate size: You want to use aragonite sand, about 1-2 mm size. Smaller falls thru the screen.