PDA

View Full Version : Bulkhead Sizing Question

Jcohen9999
02/06/2004, 03:33 PM
After searching I couldn't find quite what I was looking for so here it goes....

For my intended set-up I plan on having a 26G AGA Bow Front drilled as pictured below:

http://www.spydrweb.org/Saltwater/tank%20drilling.gif

My questions are:

1) How far below the top of the tank should the holes be drilled (I was planning to keep them near the top to limit the potential for drainage should one leak).

2) What size bulkheads should I drill for considering I wish to conserve space behind the tank

3) I have no experience with bulkheads so I need to know how far apart they need to be

and finally:

4) If I plan on an external Durso overflow so I need any internal plumbing for the internal overflow? (this will help me determine the dimensions of the overflow)

I guess that's it (for now). Sorry for the long post and thanks, in advance for any help you can offer.

Jeff

crescent1
02/06/2004, 06:14 PM
question 1, are planning on inserting some type of lockline or directional jets into the bulkheads.
question2, i wouldent go smaller then 3/4 bulkheads.
question 3, spaced evenly.
question 4, dont quite follow.

Jcohen9999
02/06/2004, 07:28 PM
question 1, are planning on inserting some type of lockline or directional jets into the bulkheads.

Yes I am, to prevent deadspots behind the liverock. I will probably fashion something myself out of pvc

question2, i wouldent go smaller then 3/4 bulkheads.

Ok, that's in line with what I was thinking but from what I've read bigger would be better (like 1") so I guess the question is can 5 1" bulkheads fit or would this be a waste for this size tank while creating the need for more clearance in the back.

question 3, spaced evenly.

makes sense. I guess I just need to leave room for the internal overflow which I am projecting to be 4" wide and 2" deep depending on the answer to #4

question 4, dont quite follow.