PDA

View Full Version : Rate these corals in difficulty please :)

Scorch268
02/02/2004, 08:48 PM
Xenia
Ricordea
Colt
frogspawn
long tenticaled plate
GSP's
Hammer coral
Mushrooms
Toadstool leather
Zoo's

This is my tank :) Kinda boring now, just curious as to what you guys think is the hardest to take care of.

Wind
02/02/2004, 08:55 PM
they all seem pretty decent... zoos, shrooms being really hardy, frogspawn, hammer, and plate might be hardest OUT OF the list, but yeah all seem pretty easy, and hardy ..it should be okay.. if ur parameters are well,

jdallred
02/02/2004, 08:56 PM
I would say besides the plate (which I have no personal experience) it is pretty much a wash, none of them are difficult. But here goes: (easiest to hardest)
Xenia
GSP
Zoo's
Toadstool
Colt
Ricordea
Frogspawn
Hammer

CaddyofClowns
02/02/2004, 09:33 PM
heres my opinion. easiest to hardest.

1. Zoo's - how do you KILL THESE???
2. Frogspawn - Very good beginner coral.
3. Ricordea - Usually always does well, can acclimate to many different lighting schemes
4. Colt - just plain easy.
5. GSP - similar to xenia in some sort.. sometimes people have the problem - they take them home from LFS and they just dont open :\
6. Toadstool - Very Hardy coral.. but can get many different infections and not always easy to treat.. Buy a healthy specimen and this coral is a nobrainer.
7. Hammer - Be wary of the specimen you buy. Make sure the polyp is in tact all around the skeleton. But still relatively easy.

---- Xenia is a class of its own.. sometimes it can be the only coral in someones tank they cant keep.. Sometimes people cant kill this stuff off. Just a coral you gotta try your luck on... if it does well.. prepare for some cutting :)

CaddyofClowns
02/02/2004, 09:34 PM
woops i copied his list above..

id say plate fits in between toadstool and hammer.

Find a spot in your tank it likes and it does very well.

Scorch268
02/02/2004, 09:47 PM