PDA

View Full Version : Xenia Problem

JEMichael IV
02/01/2004, 12:28 AM
I really hate that it has come down to this. I have been fighting this patch of xenia for about a 4 months now. It is right next to the base of my Green Slimer Frag. I keep cutting them back and they keep coming back AND when they do its worse than the last time.

I cut them and then I try to inject kalk paste into whats left, but I swear it still doesnt kill them.

I need to get this little patch (about 8 stalks) out of my tank. They are located on the same rock my Green slimer is on. There is no way to remove the rock without a making a big project.

Is there anything else I can inject into these guys to make them melt away?

I know this could be taken wrong and I hope I can get some help instead of getting flamed for killing them. I am not one to kill anything, expecially involving corals. But I do not want to loose my huge green slimer or possibly any other corals as they reproduce like rabbits.

Thanks for any help anybody can offer.

tike
02/01/2004, 01:01 AM
i wouldn't worry too much. Let them grow and the slimmer will sting the heck out of it!

David M
02/01/2004, 01:03 AM
Use a razor blade to trim off the stalk as close to the base as possible. It should take some time for the colony to threaten the other corals and you get a regular harvest of xenia you can trade in to lfs or other hobbyists. I wish I had your problem. I used to take a five gallon bucket of the stuff in to lfs monthly, but it eventually died out. I have heard this is common. Wait long enough and you may regret the day you posted this.

H@rry
02/01/2004, 08:18 AM