PDA

View Full Version : Please critique a newbies sump/ref design!

AndrewMT
01/31/2004, 12:15 AM
Hi, I'm new to the reef keeping hobby (or obsession, whatever you want to call it) and I am submitting my first sump design for review (picture attachment at the bottom of the page). Currently, I have a 75 gallon reef-ready tank setup with 100lbs of live rock currently being cured.

This forum seems to have a lot of experts on DIY sump/refugium design, so I thought I'd post my own schematic and see what you think. I got a lot of ideas (and I may not have drawn them right) from this forum and most of the knowledge from the Melev's reef site: http://www.melevsreef.com/what_sump.html

So, let me go through what I have done so far: The refugium and tank are separate so that I can fit them both under my stand where there is a supporting beam in the middle. As I said, the tank is reef ready and the water in the stand flows through 3/4" pipe for the intake and 1/2" pipe for the return. The intake drops water into a rectangular compartment holding live rock rubble and the water then flows through teeth at the bottom of the compartment. The rest of the sump is pretty self-explanatory.

The water in the return area is pumped with a Mag 9.5 to a maximum height of a little less than 4". The water will also split off into the refugium (for its supple of new water) and if needed (if the pump is too powerful), water can also flow back into the sump. This was one of Melev's ideas. The refugium will contain a 1-2" plenum and a simple tube will allow overflow while also serving to skim the water. This, too, is another one of Melev's ideas.

That's about it. Now, I have several questions:
1. Did I do the intake with LR rubble right? Or should the water come in through the bottom and come out at the top of the LR compartment?
2. Do you think the Mag 9.5 is powerful enough?
3. How deep can I make my refugium and still allow for adequate growth?