PDA

View Full Version : Reasons for starting a reef tank? Poll

wakeboarder2342
01/30/2004, 12:13 AM
Why did you start a reef tank? im not sure i did this right as this is my first post with a poll. I want to know if why people started reef keeping?

sw-addict
01/30/2004, 12:25 AM
I started a reef tank because it just seemed like the next step in aquariums. I have had turtles, frogs, bluegil, guppies, betas, crocidiles, oscars, angels, back to chiclids, then live rock tank that was boring then added mean fish lions and clown triggers then calmed down to mild fish that were reef safe then added my first coral.

skattabrain
01/30/2004, 12:49 AM
what about - "had way too much money just sitting there in the bank!"

RobChuck
01/30/2004, 01:24 AM
It was the next challenge in aquaria for me. I started with FW, then SW fish only, then FOWLR, and now I'm just getting into reefs.

bergzy
01/30/2004, 01:53 AM
i have kept fw for almost 30 years (and i am just a few years over 30) and have kept everything...all types of goldfish, angelfish, exotic arrawana, discus...list goes on.

i made the jump directly to reef and skipped the fo and fowlr. i read many a books before getting into it. took a break for a little and have been back with a vengeance.

Reefmedic79
01/30/2004, 02:29 AM
I've always wanted to be a Marine Biologist.

Scuba Dog
01/30/2004, 02:51 AM
I love the ocean, unfortunatly im land locked and likely always will be........so i started to scuba dive and hit the reefs about threee dive vacations a year........then i bought and underwater camara system and started giting phot album after ablbum .......then i thought why not have a reef in my living room i can see every day......and own my own little piece of the ocean, and be able to mix different fish from all over the worlds reef together......face it im to chicken to go dive the red sea to see purple tangs.....because of the middle east dangeres........but i can see one every day in my tank........

gromulin