PDA

View Full Version : Black Ick!!!!!!!!!

ChrisN87
07/22/2001, 06:08 PM
Hey.....

I just got a healthy yellow tang..And while I was looking at it in my tank I saw little tiny black dots on her. I am going to treat with CopperSafe (Will it Help)...?

I have the coppersafe bottle.. But I don't have the instructions.. So I dont know how much to add.

PLEASE HELP

JohnL
07/22/2001, 06:34 PM
Chris,

See billsreef's reply to this thread.

http://archive.reefcentral.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9365

JohnL
07/22/2001, 06:36 PM
http://archive.reefcentral.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=6303

ChrisN87
07/22/2001, 06:53 PM
Thanks.

If I don't treat it....Will he be ok?

JohnL
07/23/2001, 12:13 PM
Sorry, Chris, I have no idea.

FMarini
07/23/2001, 02:27 PM
Chris:
Here is a quip from Bill.....( since i have little experience w/ Black ich)

"copper does not usually work.

The tried and true method is formalin dips, do a search on this board for formalin and you will come up with the directions for use. Another possible alternative is to treat using hyposalinity, I have used this sucessfully on a couple of cases of black ich and heard of a couple of other sucess stories. Of course either of these treatments are best done with the tang in a hospital tank."

Also read the links JohnL has attached
frank

billsreef
07/24/2001, 08:51 PM
Hehe, I've been hung up with a crazed work schedule that's prevented me from being able to reply earlier and I find I've still replied ;)

Thanks John and Frank.

Chris,

Let us know how you make out. And yes you do want to treat this as I have seen it get out of control without treatment and cause the loss of fish.

Mr Nasty
07/25/2001, 12:00 PM