PDA

View Full Version : Help me choose my camera! :)

jfly
01/01/2004, 01:31 PM
Alright, here's the contenders (all 3mpx):

Canon A70
Nikon 3100
Pentax Optio S

I don't think I'll actually need a 4mpx camera for anything as I don't generally crop pictures that much or make big prints. Heck, I don't even make prints most of the time. I like the fact that all three of these cameras are small. I want to make sure that I can take nice close pictures of my reef first and foremost. I also want a camera that I'd not hesitate to bring with me, but more importantly is image quality. Who cares if I have a camera that gets close and fits in my pocket nice if the image quality sucks, right? :) The price differences between these cameras (or lack thereof) isn't an issue. Whichever of these three is the best choice is the one I'll get, regardless of price.

The cameras:

My mom just got an Optio S for Christmas so I've had some experience playing around with it. The disadvantage that I see is the proprietary battery because if I run out in a pinch I just can't run to a store and get some extras. However, the camera is TINY. I know if I had this camera that I would ALWAYS have it on me. Granted, the majority of pictures that I take are of my reef, but I'm almost positive its due to the bulk of my current camera and my not wanting to bring it along all the time. I've taken a few pictures of my reef with this camera (about 100) and it does a surprisingly good job. I haven't even read the manual yet.