PDA

View Full Version : HELP Graduate admissions.

Evergreen
12/17/2003, 01:59 PM
I am applying to the Marine Science program at SUNY Stony Brook (Where i am finishing up my BS) and at UConn. I am having trouble with the admission statement, and was wondering if anyone has any pointers. A lot of the online sites offer samples that are just way too.. dramatic for me.

It asks you to write information that wasn't included on the normal application form, and things you would want to express in an interview (which I did have already anyhow). I used to be a teacher (French and Spanish 7-12) and the reasons I switched to Mar Sci are complex. There is a lot to write, and the draft I wrote is over 3 pages long. Should I concentrate on the future or the past, my motivations, or all of them equally? ANY tips would help.. if you want I will even send you my draft..:rolleye1:

skeletor121
12/17/2003, 03:50 PM
I personally would write a very little about the past and a lot about the future and your motivations. I think that the motivations and the past tend to go together sometimes, which helps shorten things up. When I wrote applications to get into College (about 7 years ago) I concentrated on why I wanted to be there and why I would be a good match (hard worker, experience, etc.). I'm not sure if it helped me to get in, but I was accepted to the Marine Environmental Science program at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy in CT, which is the most selective school in the U.S. It gets approximately 5000 applications a year and only accepts 5-10% of them.

Evergreen
12/17/2003, 06:08 PM
Hmm I suspected that. Its hard to tie my other degree in with the current one, as to why i switched careers and all. I am going to try to bring more or my plans and motivation and things. Thanks

neuroracer
12/18/2003, 12:07 PM