PDA

View Full Version : Coaraline Algae on the glass

Stringer
06/27/2001, 04:18 PM
I have a 75 gallon reef tank that has been up and running for 14 months. I have live sand and about 300lbs of live rock. I run a CPR back pack protien skimmer, a Fluval 404 canister filter and a 100 Sea Storm. My corline algae is not developing. Any ideas why not?

hartman
06/27/2001, 04:25 PM
Stringer,

what are your water parameters? including CA. Does you LR have corline algae on it?

Hartman

Stringer
06/27/2001, 04:28 PM
Ammonia and Nitrites are 0
Nitrate is less than .20
Calcium is 380 and rising.
Ph is 8.2
Phosphate is 0
dkh is 186 :(

Stringer
06/27/2001, 04:29 PM
Sorry, just a beginner here.
Salt content is 1.022
Live rock does have algae.

jbjints
06/27/2001, 05:52 PM
Hi,
Your calcium should be higher, more between 400 and 450.

Joe

TwistOfLemon
06/27/2001, 07:14 PM
They seem to like fast flow rates. I had a huge growth covering back of tank where the power head flow was stiking the back. Not sure about chemistry involved.

3_high_low
06/28/2001, 11:04 AM
Whats the alkalinity? 186dkh! You musta forgot a decimal point or something. 10-12 dkh is what i shoot for, I have plenty of coraline growth growth in a tank set up Feb 2001.

If your alk is 18.6(still too high) and you lower it the Ca++ concentration will increase.

hth:bum:

hartman
06/28/2001, 11:21 AM
Stringer,

Suggestions

1) Raise your Salt content or SG (specific gravity) to about 1.026
2) Get you tank temp to at least 80 F
3) If you Nitrates are 20ppm or .20 like you said do some water changes since this is high, not deadly high just high.
4) Is your skimmer a CPR Bak Pak II, if so it is too small for your tank. I run the same thing on a 20G and most will not recommend it for anything over 35G lightly stocked.

Questions
1) What is your light setup like and how long do you run them?
2) How are you adding your CA

Stringer
06/28/2001, 11:34 AM
Thanks for the reply.