PDA

View Full Version : Looking for opinions/advice on Live Rock

sambo
11/26/2003, 08:03 AM
Hey all,

I'm new to this hobby and I had a couple of questions I wanted some input on. I have a 225 gal tank and will be using live rock/sand with protein skimming as a filter system. I have also made about 180 pounds of base rock from equal parts oyster shell, crushed coral and aragonite sand per the recipes floating around on the web. I would like to add another 75 - 100 pounds of "natural" rock for a more natural look.

My first question is this (finally): Should I add "live rock" purchased from my LFS/internet to seed my system, or should I use natural rock which has been "cleaned" and an "activator" such as Grunge or whatever. The reason i ask is I've read in posts that many recommend that you leave newly purchased live rock in a sepearte container in order to pick out the "bad things" before adding to your system. Is this for established systems, or also for new systems? Would using an activator eliminate this risk?

Next, should I buy live rock to seed my system, any recommendations for where I should get it. I've heard Florida aquacultured rock is good as well as TBS??? rock.
Also Marshall Island and Fiji. Didn't they just stop the import of some live rock?

Lastly, should I use an "activator", any recommendations? I've heard many had good results with GARF Grunge, but it's pretty ugly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. There's a lot to learn in this hobby, but it been interesting so far.

Thanks

MalHavoc
11/26/2003, 08:56 AM
First,

[welcome]