PDA

View Full Version : Want to buy this reef tank but have questions....

kbreese
11/25/2003, 07:32 PM
NEED HELP PLEASE..Considering buying this tank but have questions...
NEWBIE WARNING, I am a newbie so forgive my ignorance.

Does the Live rock have a lifespan and does it get dull as time goes on? (you will see why i ask this question later on b/c b/c the guy suggests getting some new rock)

Also, Why do some reef tank pictures I see just look like regular rock while others have tons of beautiful colors and are flowing with all kinds of plants (not sure what they technically are (SPS Coral??). Can this Corral be put on or seeded into the "live rock"?

For example compare the picture here (the tank/setup I am looking at possibly buying) http://www.fishprofiles.com/interac...ad.asp?id=24520

to THIS:
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-11/totm/index.htm

Thats a HUGE difference, one looks lifeless and the other is amazing. Granted i know i can't expect that right off the bat but close would be nice...

Lastly, IF YOU COULD PLEASE TAKE THE TIME to read what this guy *the one selling the tank I am looking into purchasing)is saying and sound if everything sounds ok, I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IT!

When I asked him about the tank I am considering purchasing these were his responses:

(1)"The setup is about five years old. There is some hair algae and some bubble
algae but it can be recurred and used as base rock. There is a lot of rock
as you can see from the photo. I would definitely add some new live rock
after you have cycled the tank. Not all at once. SLOWLY! As far as
maintenance the 5 gallon pail with chemical pump adds the fresh water daily
and lasts about a week. There is about a quart of evaporation a day. I add
calcium into the make up water and that is also feed through the chemical
pump. I will include the timer for the light which I leave on for 10 hours
a day. There is also a timer on the refungium tank."