PDA

View Full Version : new to hobby and need help

Kagan
11/24/2003, 06:49 AM
Hi everyone,

I am new to the hobby and thinking to start a marine tank. I have bought a 125cm*50cm(depth)*65cm tank. It holds about 90 gallons. I have vecton UV 25 watts from my discus tank. I am thinking to make a trickle filter from one of my tanks, which has about 33 gallon capacity (I guess trickle can use 20-25 gallon at most).

My plans are to put some fish (about 8-10), some anemones, a shrimp (or if possible more), a star... I am not planning to upgrade to reef in the near future.

I do not have much money for now..

My questions are:
1) I have found a seaclone skimmer for 100 gallons. Would it be enough?? Or should I try to build my own skimmer?

2) What does a sump mean? Is it the same thing with deep sand bed??? Or what do these do? Do I need one?

3) Is the trickle filter ok? What should I use in it? I am thinking to put sponges, bioballs or fumice and then the heater and the pump. The pump will have a 1400 liter/hour capacity. Will I need more??

4) I am thinking to put crushed corals (mixtrue of large and fine) into the tank. What should be the amount and do I need any preferred orientation throughtout the tank?? I will also put a power head in the bottom to make circulation. I also found some colourfull rocks that do not go into reaction with fresh water. Though I do not know if they do with marine water. If these are not ok, what type of rock can I use ( for the nice view)? I can find

5) I will be able to put about a max. 100-150 watts of fluorescent lamps like marine glo or similar.. Is it suicide??

thats all for now. I will be waiting for the recommendations..

carribeanlovers
11/24/2003, 06:58 AM
You will see that most people on here will tell you not to use crused coral. Use a DSB (deep sand bed). Crushed coral causes problems.

dkh0331
11/24/2003, 08:05 AM
First, what type of marine tank are you considering for your set-up - Reef/FO/FOWLR?