PDA

View Full Version : Question about a fuge.

Basketcase
11/23/2003, 11:10 AM
As I have stated before I am new to the saltwater side of this hobby. I currently am setting up my 75 gal and have a 50 gal that was used a a fuge by the person I got everything from. I want to do this right the first time instead of having to redo over and over again. What should I put in the fuge live sand? live rock? critters? "plants"? I am going to set the fuge so that it drains into the 75. Also what kind of lighting for the fuge? Any and all help will be appreciated.

DgenR8
11/23/2003, 11:30 AM
Live sand and rock are nice in a 'fuge, but not necessary. Should you decide you want them, you can always add them later.
A refugium is a perfect place for growing macros, and by definition, it's a place to grow critters without fear of predadation.

Quicksilver
11/23/2003, 11:33 AM
Hey Basketcase! I'm in the beginning stages of building my first fug myself. I do not have alot of experience with salt either being a newbie I have been doing alot of research here and elsewhere. I think what I finally decided on was a DSB(deep sand bed), with frag live rock, and macro algae(Caulerpa, Spaghetti, etc.). Now exactly which macro algae is the best is still yet to be determined by me. I'm sure there are alot of people here that will tell you what worked for them.(P>S- keep in mind I am in the learning stages of this to) This is just some of what I hace been told.
William

DgenR8
11/23/2003, 11:37 AM
I left out lighting. Pretty much any old thing will do. Home Depot sells outdoor power compacts by a company called Lights Of America. I bought two of them for about $20.00 each, and added some more to my 'fuge, but I went overboard. 3 LOA's on a 50 would probably be more than enough, and Chaetomorphia (spaghetti macro) is widely loved by reefers ;)

the Undone guy
11/23/2003, 11:40 AM
when would you want a refug. and when would you want a sump? is a 'fuge' just a better sump?. i hate being ignorant=)