PDA

View Full Version : Feel young? Think again

jimhobbs
06/25/2001, 04:57 PM
I thought you might enjoy this-Thanks Robin!:)

Just in case you weren't feeling too old today, this will certainly
change things. Each year the staff at Beloit College, Wisconsin, puts together a list to try to give the faculty a sense of the mindset of this year's incoming freshman.

Here is this year's list The people who are starting college this fall
across the nation were born in 1982{year I graduated high school}. They have no meaningful recollection of the Reagan Era and probably did not know he had ever been shot.

They were prepubescent when the Persian Gulf War was waged.

Black Monday, 1987 is as significant to them as the great depression.

There has been only one Pope.

They were 11 when the Soviet Union broke apart and they do not remember the Cold War. They have never feared a nuclear war.

They are too young to remember the space shuttle blowing up.

Tianamen Square means nothing to them.

Bottle caps have always been screw off and plastic. Atari predates
them, as do vinyl albums. The expression "You sound like a broken
record" means nothing to them. They have never owned a record player. They may have never heard of an 8 track. The Compact Disc was introduced when they were 1 year old.

As far as they know, stamps have always cost about 33 cents. They have
always had an answering machine. Most have never seen a TV set with
only
13 channels, nor have they seen a black and white TV. They have always
had cable.There have always been VCRs, but they have no idea what BETA
was. They cannot fathom not having a remote control.

They don't know what a cloth baby diaper is, or know about the "Help me,
I've fallen and I can't get up" commercial.

Feeling old yet? There's more: They were born the year that Walkman
were introduced by Sony. Roller skating has always meant inline for
them.

Jay Leno has always been on the Tonight Show. They have no idea when or