PDA

View Full Version : lighting questions

Murray
11/20/2003, 11:25 PM
I'm confused with all the different choices of lights and colours required for a reef tank. I'm new to the hobby and in the learning phase. I hesitate to go with MH lights because of the initial cost as well as the heat output. Can some one tell me the significance of the 10000k bulbs as compared with 65000k or less.
Does anyone have any experience with the new T5 flourescent lights? By the time i'm done with my tank I would like to have some soft corals,annemonies and tridacnid clams. Would several of the T5's give enough light?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions. Murray

saltaholic
11/20/2003, 11:46 PM
ahh yes the lighting decisions...many of them!! Here is a great thread on the differences of color of MH and other great info

MH halides compared (http://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=254667&goto=newpost)

What size tank do you have. Check out reefanatic.com and look up the PFO ballast. For a dual 250watt ballast and 2 ushio 10k 250watt plus sockets and reflectors I paid just over 400 dollars, Which I thought was pretty decent. I am very happy with the setup. With a canopy that I built myself installed w/ fans keeps the heat in check.

Hope this helps.:)

GDW
11/21/2003, 12:09 AM
Greetings Murray !

Your tank's height is a critical issue, given that some of the prospective animals you listed require intense light to truly thrive.

The 10000K and 6500K numbers you read about refer to the bulb's spectrum. K stands for "Kelvin", which is a metric heat measurement unit typically used in the aquarium industry to describe the "color" of the light that a bulb emits. 5000K refers to "natural sunlight." Values less than 5000K refer to colors shifted towards the red (infrared) end of the spectrum, while values greater than 5000K refer to colors shifted towards the blue (ultraviolet) end of the spectrum.