PDA

View Full Version : Play that Funky Music, White Boy....

Jamesurq
11/20/2003, 03:11 PM
As many or perhaps none of you know - I am an amateur DJ in my spare time. Basically I have a pretty nice 500 watt or so PA system with about 100 hours of MP3's and a $100 PCDJ software on my laptop that essentially makes me a DJ.....

I've done probably 10 parties over the last few months - mostly the same crowd - early thirties to late fourties - heavy drinkers... By the end of the night I've gotten so many sloppy drunk compliments I actually (in my own drunken stouper) believe that I'm a really great DJ!!!

So - I digress - I was asked to DJ the Elementary School's "Sock Hop" this Friday - and last time I checked, most elementary school kids will be at least partially sober for most of the night. I have to kick out the 50's music mixed with some popular stuff and stay clear of the disco tunes that get the over 30 crowd so hyped up....

What I'd like is any of the following:

A: Some "must play" songs for sock-hops (come on I know there's some old farts on here that actually went to some!!)

B: Some corney "in-between the songs" lingo like the following: "Coming to you from the fatest stacks in wax here's another rocking good tune"

C: What the heck do Elementary School kids dance to these days?

Anyone?

AttackDonut
11/20/2003, 04:23 PM
yowch-

Tell you what, in the local record shop (tower music) they have comp. cds of 40s, then 50s and 60s etc. available.

They are by and large the Top 40 of their time, but I think it'd work.

You could try modern rendetions of 40s/50s tunes done by bands like Cherry Poppin' Daddies or Stray Cats, but I'd listen to them and edit if need be first.

Good luck.

Jamesurq
11/20/2003, 04:25 PM
thanks.

srit1
11/20/2003, 04:30 PM
C: What the heck do Elementary School kids dance to these days?

50 cent, Nelly - but make sure they are editted

britney, christina, hillary duff