PDA

View Full Version : NYC Area LFS

NYCJodi
09/17/2003, 01:36 PM
Newbie here in NYC. I need to purchase all the equipment to start my reef tank, and am looking for a recommendation on a good LFS in the area. The one place I did find made my Boycott List as they tried to take me for a ride...so I'd like to get a recommendation from experienced reefers, if possible, on where to go.

TIA,

jodi

marine61
09/17/2003, 07:16 PM
Buy equipment online. You will save almost 50% on some items.
Use yahoo or google to search for what you want to buy. "www.drsfostersmith.com" and "www.marinedepot.com" are two that I use. There are others.
Good Luck
marine61

ttmitsu
09/17/2003, 08:10 PM
get anything you can from marine depot and custom aquatics i got a aqua c remora protien skimmer for $158 LFS wanted $3xx and custom sealife 48'' 4x65watt +moonlight for $210 LFS wanted $350. use LFS for salt and occasionaly livestock they will all take you for a ride. get live rock from tampabaysaltwater.com or harboraquatics.com i bought some from LFS and regret it

tonycigar
09/17/2003, 08:46 PM
If bklyn is not to far,there is one on Utica ave bet ave L and ave M called thousand island. Good prices on tank and stand. Custom makes every thing in store.Very friendly and knowledgeable.Ask for Eddie.

Smitty 750
09/17/2003, 09:13 PM
If CT is not too far check out House of Fins in Greenwich awesome store for reef enthusiasts. Also check out Reef and Fin in Stamford also a reef specialty store. Both are great stores and there is also a good store in Westport The Living Reef.

NYCJodi
09/18/2003, 09:01 AM
Thanks all!

tor101898
09/18/2003, 09:40 AM
check new store called aquarium adventure in carle place long island. you won't be disappointed.

connecticut cichlids
09/18/2003, 02:20 PM
i agree with smitty....House of Fins in Greenwich , is Slam'n baby!!!WOOHOO!

ez1ez
09/18/2003, 02:33 PM