PDA

View Full Version : Live rock, lighting etc. (newbies)

Linda
05/19/2001, 02:11 PM
We have been successfully keeping FW aquariums for 5 months, and 2 months ago set up our first fish only SW tank. We have a bar goby, camel back shrimp and peppermint shrimp that we have moved from a 10 gal to 20 gal tank. My son has a 29 gal tank with 2 oscelaris clowns and camel back shrimp. We are using AquaClear filters. We would like to add some live rock to the tanks but are not sure if this is ok with the setup we have. I have read that you do need a skimmer with LR, and that you don't need a skimmer??? We asked the guy at the LFS store and he didn't know anything. The tanks have fluorescent bulbs. Is special lighting required for LR, and do you have to feed it something???

Thanks,
Linda

Rovert
05/19/2001, 02:43 PM
Linda, welcome to the hobby. I'm a newbie myself (2 mo. old reef tank), but I've had very good luck with it.

You don't need the rock, but it does have many benefits, key among which are that it makes the tank look more natural, gives the fish a sense of security so they tend to behave more naturally, and helps with biofiltration. The skimmer recommendation was not for the rock, but for the health of the fish, because it helps remove bad organic compounds that accumulate.

Live rock just needs some light. Again, as with just about everything in this hobby, opinions on on how much light vary, but one thing is almost universally agreed upon - you need much more light in a marine tank than a freswater tank, and you should get as much as you can afford. There are the people who advocate minimizing costs and getting just what they need to get by, and there are the extremists that overkill their tanks with lighting. Knowing what you want to keep in the way of animals will determine how much light you need. Luckily for your wallet, fish don't need that much.