PDA

View Full Version : OT: pc question for you tech guys

pepsiDX20
05/04/2001, 03:23 PM
Maybe somebody here can help me. I just built a pc about 4 months ago.Its an Amd athlon 850,128sdram. I have 2 hard drives and a dvd-rom. The probelm is about a week ago the computer started up and setup would not detect any of the drives, it just says "boot failure insert disk". It would only do it once in awhile now its doing everytime I start up the computer. I ussually just hit the reset button a couple of times and it will boot up normally. Any ideas on how to fix this? any help greatly appriciated.

ps. No conflicts in system manager and everything in cmos is setup correcty.

Vilas
05/04/2001, 05:53 PM
Well, I'm a tech chick, rather than a tech guy, but I do work n the field.
Are these ide drives or scsi? What OS are you running?
You might want to just crack the case and reseat the drives..

Q-ball
05/04/2001, 07:29 PM
I guess I count as a tech guy...didn't graduate yet, but I'll agree with Vilas...assuming you don't have a floppy disk stuck in the drive, yeah, I'd reopen the case & reseat the drives & all cables connecting them. If that don't work, and you're running windows...well, windows imo should be reloaded about every 6 mths anyhow so you're about due:D HTH

Q!!!

pepsiDX20
05/04/2001, 11:35 PM
Both drives are ide and o/s is win98. This stared happening after a acciently left a dvd in the drive. its been doing it ever since.Is that what caused it?

Vilas
05/05/2001, 08:28 AM
I don't think a dvd left in a drive would have this effect on anything - sounds like a shady connection, a shady cable, or a shady drive. It dosen't seem like a win* problem, it looks like it's not even getting far enough in the boot process to touch the OS.
I'd check the cables to the drives, including the power cables. Make sure they're firm on both ends, and even if they feel firm, unplug them and reseat them.