PDA

View Full Version : ID on fish

joefitz
07/28/2003, 04:04 PM
Well, I finally ordered rock! Very cool stuff. Anyway, a little blenny/goby made the trip and I was hoping I could get a little help IDing this guy so I can figure out what he eats and whatnot...

Without further ado...and thanks to anyone who can help. I sure hope he makes it through the cycle.

Keith Sheridan
07/28/2003, 04:16 PM
Wow, that is pretty cool. It is some sort of goby, they eat meaty foods, but will probably accept most any fish foods. Not sure on exact species, but shouldn't be too hard to find on fishbase.org. I would suggest having some one with a QT babysit it while your tank is cycling, so you can be sure of his health.

Keith Sheridan
07/28/2003, 04:21 PM
Where is the rock from? That is so cool getting a goby hitch-hiker

joefitz
07/28/2003, 04:56 PM
The rock was from Tampa Bay Saltwater. It is pretty cool stuff. I am a newbie, so I don't have a lot to compare it with, but it doesn't look anything like what I've seen locally. There are a lot of sponges, several bivalves, macro-algea, barnacles, a few crabs, worms, and a whole slew of stuff that I don't know what to call yet (again, I'm pretty new to this whole thing).

I'm pretty sure there is at least one mantis in there somewhere though as I've heard clicking. Uh oh! My plan is to figure out which rock he is in, take it out and hunt the sucker down with a syringe of fresh water.

And the best part is that this isn't even "the good stuff"...they have this thing called "the package". Basically, they send you the sand and half the rock (your 'base rock') and after that stuff has cycled they ship you the rest of the rock and a clean-up crew.

They ship everything submerged and there are direct flights from Tampa to Logan so my rock was boxed for a total of roughly 8 hours. :-)