PDA

View Full Version : Voltage Drops

sschafer
07/09/2003, 09:50 AM
Hello all,

A month or two ago I had central air installed in the house. I have been noticing some voltage drops whenever the central air kicks in. This is most noticable in the tank because the MH bulbs flicker for a second. Will this harm the bulbs or ballasts? What should I do to minimize the effects of these drops? Is anyone using line conditioners in front of their equipment? I have two circuits for the tank and associated equipment. Is there something relatively inexpensive that can be used in-line (no outlets) to take care of both of these circuits?

Thanks,

Steve

ReeferMac
07/09/2003, 10:52 AM
I've no idea, beacuse I'm not an electrician, but... I don't think that's supposed to happen. The compressor driving the AC unit is probably what's causing the draw, but... that shouldn't affect other circuits, on their own breakers. The only thing I can think of is you've got a commercial sized AC unit drawing too much power from your mains.. which is basically an isolated brown-out. Not something that should be happening, if wired up right.
Is the AC unit on a dedicated breaker? What Amperage? Are the AC Breaker's close (in the box) to the Tank's breakers?

- Mac

PilotNY
07/09/2003, 11:34 AM
Steve,
My first question is what size breaker main do you have. The top breaker should say 100,150 or 200. Mac is correct that the AC motor kicking in is what is causing your drops. If you only have a 100 amp service, my suggestion would be to upgrade your service to a 200 amp panel. I did this late last year because I had no more room for breakers.

Carl

sschafer
07/09/2003, 12:07 PM
Carl and Mac,