PDA

View Full Version : SURGE bucket, that actually works!!!

KingT420
06/27/2003, 10:37 AM
Crap, Crap and more crap. Every surge design I have seen does not work worth a dam. I have been messing with my surge buckets for the last 6 months. I have gone through every surge plan on the fricking internet and duplicated it, tweaked it, tweaked it some more, and then threw it away.

I thought Id share my experience building a reliable powerful surge bucket with the RC team, since I wrote this essay for another users surge problems. I will take some pics and add to my gallery. Maybe this could go in the DIY section?? Anybody???

To get a powerful surge, that was reliable and air free, what I did was, for each bucket was:

I took the flapper valve design, (most reliable starting and stopping of the surge) and have it actuated by a solenoid (the stupid lever design was just a nightmare) triggered by a float switch. There two float switches in each bucket.

Pump fills bucket, Top float switch triggers solenoid, valve opens, water level goes down, lower float switch triggers closure of the flapper.

What this accomplishes is, the PVC line running to the tank, NEVER empties out, it stays full of water all the time, solenoid closes the flapper before it would by itself (like on a toilet, or that OTHER design) So when the bucket fills, and the flapper opens, INSTANTLY with no AIR to speak of whatsoever, about 4 gallons of water empty into my tank in less than 3 seconds. Alternating buckets randomly (due to uneven fill rates)

I put a tee on the PVC line, that runs vertically up the wall a few feet with a cap on it, to provide a dead air space to soften the HIT of the Water Hammer that occurs when the flapper closes and tries to stop ~6 feet of water in a 1.25� PVC line. Before I did this, the water hammer would tear everything apart when the valve would close and when it didn’t it sounded like a gunshot in the garage.