PDA

View Full Version : 4 pin connector question..help

Todd G.
04/26/2003, 03:42 PM
Hello All...
I am a newbie to this forum and am looking for a bit of assistance.
I want to install polarized male/female disconnect plugs in the PC lead wires running from ballast to PC sockets for canopy removal.

Does anyone know where to get 4 pin (or 5 pin.. with ground if needed-?-) plugs that would wire into the cables so you could unplug them?
Have had little luck searching for them, so far.
Thanks.
Todd G.

pnosko
04/30/2003, 06:14 PM
Wow, this was quite a challenge, and I don't understand why it had to be. But you helped me find a great vendor/website in the process.

Go to JAMECO Electronics (http://www.jameco.com). Click on the black "Catalog" tab. There, you'll see a PDF Main Catalog link. Click it. On the next page, you can download their entire catalog in PDF format, or view individual pages in PDF format. Scroll-down and click next to get to the link to page 125 (Power Connectors). Click it and the one-page PDF loads. In the middle of the page, you'll see (I hope) exactly what you're looking for-- Molex .093" Power Connector Kits, in 2, 4 and 6 pin models.

How's that? :)

AquaticCo
04/30/2003, 08:39 PM
Be careful of the heat value on these connectors. They are rated for a max of 105 Degrees C. Most HQI fixtures will get this hot. I know that PFO had to recall some of there HQI fixtures because of components with this rating. FWIW

Doug

Todd G.
04/30/2003, 09:07 PM
Pete,
It looks like it will work!
Thank you :) !!
I am working on this 60 hex set up and it has brought new meaning to the word "complex"...
haha..
but what great reef tank isn't?
I have started the work on the canopy and it is turning into a challenge getting the 379 watts of mixed lighting in that cramped space.
BTW..I intend to post pics here some day when it is up and running.