PDA

View Full Version : Aquacontroller External switch, anyone use it?

Brad A.
04/16/2003, 02:43 PM
Does anyone use the external switch option on the aquacontroller 2? If you do, I would like to know how to wire an off or on switch application. For example, a float switch or what ever could be off or on.

Thanks
Brad

tentacle
04/17/2003, 03:12 AM
Hi Brad,

I have no experience with the AC II, but I'll bump this up for you. You may also want to post this in the Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment (http://reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?forumid=212) forum.

JB NY
05/05/2003, 03:37 PM
Hey Brad did you ever work this out? I just hooked a float switch into the AQ over the weekend.

Brad A.
05/05/2003, 05:06 PM
Yes, I downloaded the aquacontroller manual from neptune's website. This is a really cool feature.

Thanks
Brad

in2deep
05/05/2003, 06:11 PM
I had Kurt @ Neptune send me a serial cable with the leads ready to hook-up to a float switch in the sump and will have the audible alarm and cell phone page alarm activated to warn of power out or "return pump" failure if the water level rises and trips the float switch. Does anybody know the exact language to program into the Aq2 to enable what i described? The computer lingo screws me up every time i try to program anything new even though it seems so simple in the manual i usually get tripped up with one of the characters. Thanks, Mike.

JB NY
05/05/2003, 06:48 PM
Here's mine

If Switch1 OPEN Then SWA OFF
If Switch1 CLOSED Then SWA ON
If Switch1 CLOSED Then ALM ON

SWA is my switch alarm, right now it's just an red light for a visual signal.

ALM is my alarm, I use the aquanotes program to send out a page when it trips.

HTH

in2deep
05/05/2003, 09:01 PM
Thanks Joe- youdaman!

mhurley
05/06/2003, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by in2deep