PDA

View Full Version : T5 or VHO???

vegeta
04/08/2003, 11:04 PM
I was wondering if you were buying new lighting which one would you go with?

mathman
04/08/2003, 11:12 PM
I am no expert, but I still like VHO. A LFS was geeked to show me his new T5 setup so he plugged them in for me and they were bright but not like VHO. I am not sure about the possible electrical savings though. Just my opinion.

Aquatect76
04/08/2003, 11:17 PM
Electronic VHO is the WAY TO GO!

moonpod
04/08/2003, 11:29 PM
I'm on the T5 bandwagon personally, as I believe that it will supplant VHO and PC in the near term, BUT it is certainly not a proven light system in the US. It is the fluorescent system of choice in Europe, BUT you gotta remember they never got VHO or PC there.

vegeta
04/08/2003, 11:46 PM
what are the differences between the two, any advantages in the T5s?

Mako
04/08/2003, 11:47 PM
as I believe that it will supplant VHO and PC in the near term That's what they said when PC's came to the market years back. :D

I still like VHO and unless they can bring the cost down a couple of notches that's where I will stay. Just can't beat an Icecap URI combo.

fwiw

vegeta
04/09/2003, 12:26 AM
which one is cheaper?

which one is better for growing corals?

how many bulbs of each, would i need to grow SPS under a 55 gallon, 12-13 inches deep after the DSB?

vegeta
04/09/2003, 01:00 AM
also how long does each last?

moonpod
04/09/2003, 08:30 AM