PDA

View Full Version : ESV Bionic Doser???

maxxII
04/08/2003, 03:46 PM
Anybody use one of these?
I'm going to be running a Calcium reactor, but thats a little ways off and these sounded like a less expensive/less complicated, (fill and forget) temporary fix...so anyone w/ experiance? Do they work as advertised? Are they a pain in the @ss? Will owning one make me the coolest kid in school?
All feedback is welcome....THX

eddiem
04/08/2003, 04:30 PM
I use MTC's version.

I've seen both of them. MTC's build quality is better but the principal is the same. I've been using mine for nearly 5 years now....no problems. Once you determine the amount, its just a matter of setting the doser. From there on, all you need to do is top off the unit every couple of months.

I have mine on a timer to run for 2 minutes every night. Basically the timer turns on an air pump which forces air in to the chamber...thereby forcing the set amount of additive in to the tank. Really simple.

Let me know if you have any questions.

maxxII
04/08/2003, 06:07 PM
MTCs version? I don't follow...could you give me more info?
BTW...Semper Fi!!
I was stationed out at 29 palms w/ 3rd LAR BN for 4 years...
really enjoyed it...my buddies are overseas right now...part of me wishes I was w/ em....but then again, I've made all the sand castles I ever want to make....

ericwgoh
04/08/2003, 06:11 PM
I can't help you with the ESV model but I am using a dosing pump from Innovative Aquatics.

http://www.reefdosingpumps.com

I purchased mine from www.marinedepot.com

Basically they are reconditioned medical devices. It's not a low cost solution, but they do allow for a nice slow addition of the solutions. My unit it set to deliver 4ml of each component every hour (24 hours a day).

It's a nice product if you have fairly high calcium requirements and you don't want to spike your pH by adding a ton of B-Ionic at once.