PDA

View Full Version : Best lighting for my 150 gallon?

JT1023
03/26/2003, 01:30 PM
I just got a used 150 AGA and have already built a stand for it, and want to build the matching canopy next week. I need to decide what type of lighting i am gonna use before i build it. I only want to keep fish, shrimps, crabs, and some soft corals. My tank is 72"x18"x28"deep. Should i go with VHO, PC, or MH, and what setup should i use(how many bulbs, what wattage)?
If they would all work, which would be my cheapest option? I am a college student who has an expensive hobby..........Any replies are greatly appreciated.

rvitko
03/26/2003, 01:59 PM
I would consider a DIY Ice Cap setup with T-5's. Whatever you do keep a perspective on long term economy- for me this would absolutely rule out PC's. I would also consider 2 150w HQI pendants with 10k lamps. Like I said you can use a credit card and bite the bullet on the upfront expense and you will save electricity and expensive lamp replacements in time.

JT1023
03/26/2003, 02:02 PM
How much would that cost me, with bulbs and everything?.....also, i think i read somewhere that i would need 3 pendants for the length of my tank?

thanks

rvitko
03/26/2003, 02:21 PM
Each pendant generally has a 32" spread- factoring the goofy bracing that pretty much covers your tank. You can put mushrooms on the perimeters and do just fine. Cost is something you will have to investigate- for 8 4ft T-5 lamps I would figure a cost of $500 including ballasts, bulbs and caps, figuring you will have to build or buy a hood add $200. Two HQI 150w pendants between $600-$800 cost will be fairly equivalent. In both cases I would factor $160 every 18months for tubes or lamps.

The Lance
03/26/2003, 04:23 PM
Look up some threads on diy hqi lighting. With the depth of your tank, I would try doing two or three 250w hqi's. You can spread them out but you rum into problems on all-glass tanks with the center bracing. Good luck, The Lance

Peabody
03/26/2003, 05:19 PM