PDA

View Full Version : Automating a tank

dwall174
03/20/2003, 11:34 PM
I'm a truck driver and might be going over the road this summer? I'm looking to automate my fowlr system to last at least a week???

I have a RO/DI unit with a float switch & automatic shutoff valve for top off. I also have a above tank fuge, I’m going to set up a automatic feeder (flakes) on the fuge with a surface overflow, so most of the flakes will flow into the main tank. I plan on getting the B-Ionic (http://www.championlighting.com/e/env/0001WN2AhuFVjyQphg5C9E6/index.html?link=/Products/products.html) system for Ca & ALK? I can’t afford a Octopus or Neptune system! But I have thought of getting a dual stage controller (like a Medusa) to control my heaters and a couple small 6� fans?
Any other ideas????

dwall174
03/22/2003, 01:49 AM
:confused: 37 Views no replies? I must be on the right track? Or nobody knows? Or has a answer? :confused:

Finious
03/22/2003, 02:00 AM
I travel from time to time for work. I had everything going great. One day i got back from a trip and my sump pump had come lose from it's holder and turned over. No water or air to tank. Lost mated pair of clowns 1 yellow 1 blue tang, and a juvy emp. Sad day. Realized you can do everything possable but all it takes is on mech failure and and your toast:sad1:

arkman
03/22/2003, 02:15 AM
whats in your FOWLR?

Desolas
03/22/2003, 11:11 AM
Mainly all you really need is something to turn the lights on and keep the tank full of water. Your temperature control, fans, etc should already be taken care of. Myself I just use a normal heater, no controller. Controllers can fail too, and it is easier to talk a friend through putting a heater in the tank should something happen than to try and school them on how to operate a controller over the phone.