PDA

View Full Version : Ok I'm New To The SPS Game...

Canadian
02/25/2001, 02:14 PM
I received my first SPSs last night!

I have one softball sized "Blue Acropora" which currently appears white with baby blue tips (blue color covers about half of each branch) and a similarily sized "Green Staghorn." When I put them in the tank last night the polyps of the Blue Acropora began expanding within a few hours but those of the Staghorn were just barely peaking out.

I also had to epoxy the Blue Acropora into place because everything in my tank was checking it out at the same time and kept knocking it over. So now I'm forced to acclimate this thing at the top of the tank. I figure my only option for acclimation now is to just run my lights on a shortened photoperiod and increase the photoperiod slowly over a period of a few weeks.

Also, when I woke up this morning (lights were on) neither of the corals were showing polyps expansion. I know that some don't expand their polyps during the day but actually do so at night. Is this the case with these two "species"? ("species" is in quotes because "Blue Acropora" isn't exactly an accurate species indentification and that's all I have to go with :))

So all of you experienced SPSers...can you lend a "newbie" a hand? Please inform me about acclimation, quirks/behaviors of the the two that I currently have, and any other words of wisdom.

SueT
02/25/2001, 02:38 PM