PDA

View Full Version : Metal Halide & 44G. Pentagon HELP PLEASE!

gupebreedr
03/15/2003, 09:04 PM
Hiya Folks,

I'm a newbie to Reef Central and I must say it's a great site and I've already learned a great deal from all of you. Thanks!

I'm in the process of setting up a 44 gallon pentagon as a reef tank and am somewhat befuddled about which lighting to use. I've never dealt with MH before. I have spent the better part of this past week surfing the various threads, websites and vendors in hopes of finding answers to my questions. It seams the more I read about MH lighting the more confused I get.
Due to the unique size and shape of the 44G pentagon, I've pretty much decided that I should go with a MH pendant lighting system. Here are the dimensions of this tank, 22Lx22Wx24H. Eventually as the tank matures, I would like to know that I have sufficient lighting for whatever I might want, including a clam. This tank will have a glass canopy.

What wattage MH pendant would foot the bill for this setup? Are PC's needed? Any suggestions on companies to contact or specific pendants that I should look into.

Thanks in advance for you help, it is greatly appreciated.

Rob

:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Toutouche
03/16/2003, 01:53 AM
Gupebreeder,

[welcome]

It seams the more I read about MH lighting the more confused I get.

Heh heh! It only gets more confusing!! Lighting is one of those topics that belong with Religion and Politics!!
Sorry, I have no experience with your type/shape of tank, so hopefully someone else will chime in here.
I wasjust curious as to why yo will b covering it with a glass? Usually, it's best to leave it open for gas exchange, evaporation, lighting etc...

piercho
03/16/2003, 03:01 AM