PDA

View Full Version : bta feeding

moco2go
02/25/2003, 12:27 AM
I am new to RC, salt water, and anemones. I recently got a bta for my tank. After looking at these forums I know I should invest in a good book (know any good ones). But if anyone wants to give any advise I would sure appreciate it. I have a 29 gallon tank (9 months old) with the bta (almost a month), maroon clown, a few pieces of coral and about 35 pds of LR. I have 55 wts x3 power compax. My main quesstion (on the bta) is feeding, how to, what to, and how much. He appears to be fine; however, I do not realy know. I will be sure in the future to read up on whatever I buy. sorry

mike

drewber
02/25/2003, 12:41 AM
should of posted before buying, but ill try to help you get started.

get more light, depending on the size, feed them thawed frozen mysis, or silversides, every day if it will eat everyday

moco2go
02/25/2003, 12:42 AM
thanks

jacobdol
02/25/2003, 01:14 AM
you can make a mix from clams, mussles and jumbo shrimp. Froze it. And then feed you anemone 2-3 times a week with 1/2-1 teaspoon of the mix cut in about 1/4 inch pieces.

Smoker
02/25/2003, 01:51 AM
IMO you yave plenty of light for a BTA, but others may disagree, and I am certiantly no expert. Among other foods, you can feed krill and lancefish. Try to include the guts and bones as they are very nutritious.

jacobdol
02/25/2003, 02:08 AM
agree with Smoker!

wanareef
02/25/2003, 04:36 AM
What smoker said- but need more lights. IMO :D

Jive Turkey
02/25/2003, 06:24 AM
Fresh prawn and Formula One, 3 times a week, has helped my Sebae to become healthy and green.

moco2go
02/25/2003, 09:43 PM
thanks, I got some silversides and krill today (both frozen I hope thats Ok). bta seems to like it.
Thanks for all the help. I diffently will read up on anything else I decide to buy. BTW if I do not have enough light for the BTA or any other anemone I might want(55w blue, 55w clear, 65w 50/50), what would be considerd enough.

Thanks again
mike