PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of doing anemone/clownfish tank...

desdemona2
02/19/2003, 03:14 AM
Hi,

I was already to do a CB seahorse tank in my next setup (I am moving in a month). But then while looking for a faux coral for the tank I happened on TR BTA anemones with clowns. So now I am thinking about that. Sorry I can't do both!!

I have been doing all sorts of research on this and figure that the BTA would be the best first anemone (at least clownfish friendly one).

Ironically I have been part of the anemone patrol on wetwebfotos, telling beginners not to keep them. But I am not exactly a beginner anymore, don't know what to call me but i have been doing this for 2 years. Maybe advanced beginner, tadpole, shark or scalliwag?? :-)

My tank is as follows: 40 gal breeder; 144 watts of PC lighting--1/2 actinic; Ecosystems40; AquaC Remora skimmer; 40+ lbs lr; and I will have a 1-1.5 inch sandbed or whatever is left after I move everything. I only have two fishies-- a jawfish who I will have to give up (or he will be eaten) and a Royal Gramma. I am getting a bicolor or midas blenny; and would like a dwarf angel (ie Coral Beauty).
My water perimeters have been good: temp 80; SG 1.024; Amm. , nitrate, nitrite 0; CA 400; alk 3.5. I am adding two parter; and I do weekly 5% water changes (at least most of the time). Everything has been doing pretty well.

I have some questions for you:
1. Do you think that someone with my experience should keep one?
2. Do I have enough light?
3. What do I do about water circulation, do I need a wave maker, and if so what's a good solution preferably under $125, actually preferably less?
Right now I have the return from the Ecosystem (a Rio--yuck--600); a Maxijet1000; and a Cap (another yuk)600 or maybe it's a 900 which I will replace.