PDA

View Full Version : filtration

lowpro1
01/13/2003, 10:02 AM
i am new to salt water tanks. i was woundering is these filtration methods in a 30 gallon tank would be ok.

penguin 330 bio-wheel power filter
under gravel filter
and 2 power heads, 1 on top and 1 submergable.
1 protien skimmer

i wanted to keep a dwarf zebra lion, 2 long nose hawkfish, 1 pixy hawkfish and maybe a clown or 2. would that type of filtration work?

Im Lon 2
01/13/2003, 11:21 AM
Take the Bio Wheel off the penguin. I would not go with the Under gravel filter.

Need to know if you plan on having a DSB (deep sand bed) and live rock.

Siddroww
01/13/2003, 11:43 AM
My opinion :

Do not use the undergravel .

Take out the Bio wheels and run carbon . No filter media , they are a nitrate factory . Change the carbon weekly / bi-weekly depending on your bio-load .

Use a GOOD protien skimmer .

Live rock would be a real nice addition to your filtration and it looks good too .

lowpro1
01/13/2003, 08:50 PM
i plan on putting 4 to 5 inches of live sand and cruched shells, along with some pive sand. i am also deffly doing live rock. so i shouldnt use a undergravel and i shoudl take the bio wheels out. and that would be enough filtration for the fish i ahve listed? beacsue the guy at my local pet store tried to conn me into spending 300 dollars that i dont have on a wet dry, so im trying to find an alternate rout that wont kill me fish

Im Lon 2
01/13/2003, 09:17 PM
Forget about the crush coral/shells. You do not want any of that in a DSB. You are from NJ right go and buy some South Down Play Sand from your local Home Depot. make it 4" deep. Get atleaste a lb of rock for every gallon you have and a couple power head. and That will be fine for filtration. You might want to had a sump or a Refugium later and this will help as well.

IMO You might not even need to buy the penguin 330. I would see what other people post about that.

Im Lon 2
01/13/2003, 09:22 PM