PDA

View Full Version : new guy...please help

rwesurfn
01/10/2003, 11:31 AM
I am about to purchase my first saltwater tank soon, I can't afford what I want so am going to buy what i can afford to setup properly. I have been browsing the forums for a few months and purchased several good books you all have recommended, have been reading and reading and reading.
I would like to set up a reef tank with LR and DSB, i plan on keeping mostly softies and lps but would like to be set up to do sps as well. Oh yeah....maybe a few fish too. Any way i seem to be having trouble deciding an a tank size I dont feel like i can afford to start with much over a 29 g tank for now. my plan is to start small and move tank to bedroom when i can afford what i want this summer or fall (wife will be outta school and boat will be paid off..woohoo). i have been looking around and kinda like the 28 bowfront, any of you have experience with bowfront tanks....what are your likes and dislikes? I have fairly good carpentry skills so stand and canopy will not be a problem.

or would suggest something else??

thank for all your help

Mike

NorthCoast
01/10/2003, 12:13 PM
First I would like to say:
[welcome]

Second, if you are planning (or thinking about) upgrading prior to your first purchase then I would suggest that you get what you really want. Start putting together everything you will need and want slowly. It usually will cost less in the long run. I know it can be difficult to resist the urge to purchase something now, however, from your post summer (or fall) really is not too far off.

Plan things out and make the purchases when you can more readily afford things. The end result should be more rewarding and possibly not need upgrade too soon.

I like the bow fronts in the smaller tanks and prefer the flat fronts in the larger tanks. In the smaller tanks the bow front can give a greater depth of view.

Keep the questions coming. :D

Later,
NC

Russ
01/10/2003, 04:21 PM