PDA

View Full Version : New Current USA Solana Set up

rmcgookey
11/26/2007, 08:08 PM
Hello, I’m new to reef central and I’m excited to join the community. I’ve just got back into the hobby after being out of it for 4 years. The last tank I had was a Clear-For-Life 12 gallon Acrylic tank with built in filter. At the time, nanos weren’t nearly as popular. I look forward to sharing my progress with you and giving/receiving tips and advice. I’ve read some threads from other recent Solana users and I’m looking forward to adding to the online content.

Here are the specs on my tank so far:
Equipment:
-34 gallon Current USA Solana
-Stand made for Solana
-150w 14K SunPod bracketed over tank
-stock skimmer
-stock return pump
-Korilia 1 on left side
-150W Hydor heater (need to return it, calibrated terribly)
-About to add JBJ ATO with Aqualifter pump and Prime 1/15HP Chiller

Other:
-All distilled water from Kroger
-Tropic Marine Pro Reef Salt
-Caribsea Araq-alive Reef Sand (40 lbs)
-45-50 lbs cured Live Rock (Aquacultured, Tonga, and Fiji)
-Chemi Pure Elite 5 oz. (20g capacity bag)
-Purigen (100g capacity bag)
-stock micro bio balls in mesh bags

Overall, I’m very pleased with this tank. The cube rimless braceless design looks great and unlike most all-in-one tanks. I went with the SunPod instead of the “disco ball” overhanging light. I contacted Current USA and they plan to release a canopy for this tank in the spring. I hope the SunPod fixture can be mounted into it in case I decide to go with a canopy.

Pros:
-Adequate sump space (4.5” deep) I may put in a small refugium in the biological/chemical filtration chamber and shine a small light in from behind the tank
-Seems to be a well designed skimmer. (too early to see how productive it is) Not too many tiny bubbles in the tank and I assume those I see will be eliminated as the skimmer breaks in.
-400 gph included return pump provides adequate flow