PDA

View Full Version : do you use Kalk with your nano?

mahalamata
11/14/2007, 07:56 AM
I've been thinking of adding Kalkwasser as my top-off(5L gravity fed DIY system).I just wanted to ask if anyone has used this stuff with a nano,and if so what are your results and thing to look out for.Since i have never used Kalk before what is the "proper" procedure for using it?

thanks

NanoReefWanabe
11/14/2007, 08:30 AM
that would be far too much kalk for a nano's top off i would think...

since there is no way to mix it strong or weak...it just is...you have to figure out what your calcium requirements are for your tank...

you should drip kalk at night, this will help keep your PH stable...

i was going to do it, but never got around to buying the kalk...you have basically the same setup i have (tanks) i was going to use a 500ml water bottle and likely only drip about 300ml at night, and at that i think i was going to do it every other night..

however since daily dosing with 2 part isnt keeping my calcium up i may start dosing kalk too now..

i find my ph to be chronically stuck at 8.0 so kalk may be the best way to go for me..

you will have more luck and info in the reef chemistry forum i would think

NanoReefWanabe
11/14/2007, 08:35 AM
check this web site to determine how much kalk (limewater) to use
depending if you want to raise your calcium or maintain it you can calculate how much to use..

**EDIT** for got the website...LOL
http://home.comcast.net/~jdieck1/chem_calc3.html

to raise it by 40 ppm you need almost 1.5 litres...but i sure dont think i would do that daily..like break it up over the week or a couple days anyway..

once your up to par and know how much your tank uses daily you can figure out how much to dose everynight to make up the consumption..

mahalamata
11/14/2007, 08:50 AM
hmm,good points...