PDA

View Full Version : New Tank

Thomalop
11/05/2007, 07:58 AM
Hello, I am new to the hobby and starting a 75 gallon saltwater. I am going to keep just live rock, fish and some anemones.

I am going to build a 20 gallon sump. My question is on the pump and skimmer. I was going to purchase a Sea Clone 100 (it will be in the sump) and use a MAG 7 return pump. Do you think this would be sufficient?

Also how manny baffles shoud I use on the sump pump? Should I add any media?

If anyone has photos of their sumps I would love to see them!

Thanks in advance.

BangkokMatt
11/05/2007, 08:43 AM
[welcome]
Don't use any media, just have plenty of live rock. That will do the job just fine.
I have 3 baffles in my sump and that enables me to put all of my kit in and have a fuge. If you are building a sump build it as big as you possibly can. It will pay dividends.
I will post a pic of mine later.
If you want anemones you should wait at 3 months before you add one. Let you system properly settle.
Sorry, but can't comment on the skimmer and return as I have no experience of them.

saltysteven
11/05/2007, 09:13 AM
this site has everything you want to know-
if you still have questions after checking it out , just ask.
he's got some great sump set ups on his site!
http://www.melevsreef.com/allmysumps.html

albatross666
11/05/2007, 09:28 AM
Hi

I did some research when I did my setup, so let me try to give you a pointer or two.

Use at lease 3 baffles. If you can do 4 baffles, to help cut the bubble drift for one chamber to the next.

If you are building the sump yourself, add covers where-ever possible! This helps reduce evaporation. Some say that this also has a negative efect of reducing oxygen exchange, but in my opinon, the skimmer does a whole lot of oxygen resupply. Maybe some other members can comment and help out here? I have a cover (cut piece of plexiglass)