PDA

View Full Version : lighting

Jm9760
11/03/2007, 11:58 PM
Hi, I am new to fish tanks, and have a lighting question. I am setting up a 40 gallon reef tank. I am using a metal halide. The way it is set up is the halide is in the middle, and there is a fluorescent on either side. I currently have one fluorescent with a actinic bulb in it, and the other has a full-spectrum bulb. Is this the way I should do it, or should I use two full spectrums? The tank is shallow, (about 13 inches) so I was wondering if the actinic is necessary, or at all beneficial. If it is not beneficial, would it be beneficial to replace the bulb with a full-spectrum? Any help would be appreciated.

bertoni
11/04/2007, 12:16 AM
[welcome]

The fluorescent bulbs can be anything you want. Most people use them for actinic to add more blue, but the choice is mostly a matter of personal taste. The wider-spectrum bulbs might encourage a bit more coral growth, in theory.

arts007
11/04/2007, 02:21 AM
What kind of fluorescent bulbs are they? NO (normal output) VHO (very high output) HO (high output) PC (power compact)

kenny77
11/04/2007, 02:26 AM
actinic will only bring out the best of your corals color. but it hasn't been prove that they help coral growth.

Jm9760
11/04/2007, 07:55 AM
Thanks for all the responses. The bulbs are high output.

EDIT: I also have one more question. My tank is 36" long. The metal halide is only 24". Someone I know also has a fluorescent light that is 36" long that they can give me, but it is not as strong as the metal halide. Should I use that because it covers more area, or just stick with the halide?

jadeguppy
11/04/2007, 08:10 AM