PDA

View Full Version : High Nitrites and Nitrates

jar05g
11/03/2007, 01:07 PM
Hello all. I am new to the fish keeping hobby. I decided to set up a 29 gallon saltwater tank. I guess like all beginners I rushed things and was anxious to get some pretty fish in my tank. In the process, I didn't let my tank cycle properly. As of now, I have two damsels and one yellow tang along with 2 hermit crabs and a cleaner shrimp. ph, Ammonia, and SG are perfect, but nitrites and nitrates are high, a little less than .25 for nitrites and 10-15 for nitrates. I've been working with my LFS to get my parameters back to normal and they tell me to just let my tank sit for about three weeks without adding anything. I do have liverock in there now. Should I do what they say, or should I try a water change (which I've already done before, and it didn't help). My LFS said a water change would just set me back and it would take longer. Any suggestions?

dsn112
11/03/2007, 01:28 PM
Not really sure what to do, do you have any filtration or skimmer?

Also damsels are agressive in a small tank, and The tang needs a 55g or larger. I wouldnt put a tang in anything less than 75g long, they need room to swim. If your LFS knew what size tank you have the should have never sold you that tang, but that is why LFS's are typically bad.

m1enbo1
11/03/2007, 01:42 PM
take out the fish and let it finish it's cycle. if ammonia is "perfect" then it should be undetectable. if it is detected then you still have a while before your cycle is over.

Lotus99
11/03/2007, 01:44 PM
Nitrites aren't poisonous to saltwater fish, and the nitrates are at reasonable levels. Water changes will help bring those levels down, assuming the water you're putting in has lower nitrites and nitrates.

I agree, you should try to take the tang back to the store, a 29g tank is way too small for it.

Kevin64
11/03/2007, 02:02 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11109703#post11109703 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Lotus99