PDA

View Full Version : New around here

Kittenz
11/03/2007, 12:20 AM
Hey guys,

Thought I'm not new to fish keeping, I am new to salt water! I acquired a couple of Green Spotted Puffers. They are in full marine conditions. Basically my question is I was wondering if any other fish, or corals etc could go in with them? They seem to be quite mild mannered, I put an Olive Rockfish in with them, and he's doing fine, hand feeding and all (my brother caught him). What could I try?

Thanks,
Jasmine

uscharalph
11/03/2007, 12:59 AM
Puffers aren't recommended for reef tanks.

spike78
11/03/2007, 01:07 AM
Welcome to Reef Central!!

Puffers will eat everything. :) With the puffers you are somewhat locked into an aggressive fish only setup.

Kittenz
11/03/2007, 01:07 AM
I know they aren't recommended, however they do seem to be pretty mild and I was wondering if anyone had tried.

Kittenz
11/03/2007, 01:10 AM
Thanks Spike, I was debating turning my four footer African Cichlid tank into a reef type tank, and putting the cichlids in a two foot cube I'm getting, and leaving the puffers in the four footer they're in at the moment. However, being a student, I don't have much money at the moment, so stuck as what to do. I have a cannister filter on it, and have purchased a skimmer. I'll need more high output lights, but have a twin bulb light head for it. I was however debating whether to leave the cichlids in that tank, and use the two foot cube for the reef tank, it has a nicer stand and just looks more appealing visually, and has a custom wooden lid etc on top of it.

Argh, decisions. Anyone have any suggestions of what I could do? :D I just wanted to make the puffer tank a little more appealing visually cause it looks so bare, and I already have the cichlid tank with just rocks in it.

uscharalph
11/03/2007, 01:19 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11107526#post11107526 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by spike78