PDA

View Full Version : Rookie needs help

co407
10/31/2007, 01:37 AM
I am a saltwater rookie and need some advise from somebody that knows their stuff. If anybody would answer some questions.
I would sincerely appreciate it.

I have a 40 gal long aquarium with the following specs.

Pro clear aquatics premier 125G wet/dry filter w prefilter.
Coralife super skimmer 125G
RIO+ 2500 powerhead - pump for wet dry filter
2 Coralife 20,000K 18in fluorescent tubes / 15 watts each.
2+ inch layer of sand
Live rocks
2 unknown kinds of anemone
1 clown trigger
1 porcupine puffer
4 damsels.

My concerns are...
The out of control slime from the anemones which happens every few days when they shrivel up. It seems they shrivel up after they eat then I see this stringy slime dangling from these things which winds up all over the sand bed in clusters - large spots of grey slime.

After the anemones shrivel up for many hours they blow up and get big and full again. When I turned out the lights completely overnight these creatures puffed up and looked really weird the next morning. Now I leave the left side of the tank lights on 24-7 and have the right side on a timer.

The fish swim to the dark side at night and sleep. The anemones stay on the left side where the light is on 24-7.

I also have an out of control red color algae problem.
Within a few weeks I have this red algae all over the rocks and its getting thicker and messier everyday. I cleaned up this mess and within a few weeks it came back and its looking realy ugly.

I do not know if this is ok and normal?

Please look at the pictures and let me know what you think.
http://www.chrisondo.com/aquarium/

I also change 5 gallons of water one day a week with reverse osmosis water and coralife salt. The aquarium has been set up for 3 months and the fish are doing great.

Thank you to anybody that reads this and helps me.

skinnyjoe1976
10/31/2007, 06:03 AM