PDA

View Full Version : Poor college student

dafunk5446
10/28/2007, 01:33 PM
Hello I was just wondering if anyone else out there is a poor college student trying to have a nice reef? I am a full time student (15 Credit hours) planning on getting into marine biology and study coral, and I also work 40 hours a week. I have a single bedroom aprt. that costs me an arm and a leg. A car payment, and classes to pay for. By time all my bills are paid, I have about 40 dollars a month to play with. This really sucks! I live pay check to pay check and I still have another 5 years to go! I can barely afford to buy a frag every 2 months. Typically they are not of the best quality since I can only drop 20 dollars! Does anyone else get upset that coral has to cost so much. I wanted to buy some nice zoo's but everyone I talk to wants $30 a polyp! Then there is shipping to pay for! I would have to save up for 3 months to buy a single nice zoo! Whats wrong with this picture!

ccorpse27
10/28/2007, 01:37 PM
$30 a polyp? I can see if they're somewhat rare zoos but you need to start looking at cheaper corals. No sympathy from me, I was a poor college student then and still poor now.

andrewkw
10/28/2007, 01:38 PM
buying the ultra rare or just plain trendy corals are going to be expensive, but its pretty remarkable you can buy a coral colony for about $40 that came from an ocean halfway around the world only days or in some cases a day before you bought it.

dafunk5446
10/28/2007, 01:47 PM