PDA

View Full Version : RO/DI for small tanks

OMORDN
10/26/2007, 07:22 PM
Hi Everyone,

I just joined this forum and I'd like to start off by saying that I am a beginner in this. I currently have a 30gallon tank to start off with. I know it'll be harder to maintain, but right now... it is the only thing I can afford.

Anyways, I know all of the components I am going to need to start my aquarium. My question though is.. is the RO/DI really necessary or is it only necessary for bigger tanks? I have been looking to see if anyone has mentioned this but so far I haven't been successful.

I would really appreciate it if someone could help me with this.

demonsp
10/26/2007, 07:29 PM
Clean filtered water or many problems later. And i think its more important in a smaller tank though its very important in any tank.
Your tap may be fine but if 1 year from now you have problems then its great to rule out water source upfront. Also tap water may test fine but after continued use readings can climb and if you get 1 bad batch then things could go haywire.

If its cost then just start with an RO unit and upgrade later. Your fish and coral will love you for it.

saltymight
10/26/2007, 07:30 PM
Yes rodi units are necesary for any size tank...you might be able to get away with distilted water but that up to you. I have a 20g with a ro/di unit. if you use just tap you will be adding in phosphates and other unwater minerals and metals.

OMORDN
10/26/2007, 07:58 PM
Thank you for your replies. Since I am new at this, can any of you recommend me to a site or perhaps a RO/DI unit for 30g tank? I realized there are so many choose from, but I have no idea which one my tank would be better off with.

saltymight
10/26/2007, 08:20 PM
I got mine off of ebay. it took like maybe 30 minutes of use for my dissolved metals to reach 0 usually a 5-6 stage system works fine. since you are on a budget i would recament that.

dsn112
10/26/2007, 08:35 PM