PDA

View Full Version : ViaAqua heaters. junk?

cgib831
10/15/2007, 08:53 PM
I bought a 300watt via aqua stainless heater in january. used it a couple of times for water changes,and recently installed it on my 90g. worked for about 2 weeks and then just died. Im Po'd. has anyone used these before? If i can badger the company or drsforsters into giving me a new one, is it worth it, or is it just gonna die again. I know its not expensive, but in 12 years i have never had a heater fail. and this is the only one that claims to be "indestructable."

Percula9
10/15/2007, 10:04 PM
Via Aqua does not make a quality product. Buy a Ebo- Jaeger, no problem. I have had mine for the last 3yrs and no problem. I also have a Hydor for my mini-reef and have had no problems. A busted heater can cost you a lot of money in livestock.

AZDesertRat
10/15/2007, 11:17 PM
I have been using the Via Aqua Titanium for almost 4 years now without a hiccup. I would recommend it to anybody. Stainless steel is not saltwater safe, it has to be titanium.

HBtank
10/16/2007, 12:21 AM
Assume any heater is "junk" and ALWAYS use an external controller. None of them have thermostats to stake your reef on.

I would consider the titanium to be safest in regards to actually breaking.. I personally use Ebo-jager and have never been all that concerned with actually shattering them.

cgib831
10/16/2007, 08:10 AM
i believe it is stainless steel. there is some sort of strange external corrosion on it. kinda looks like rust, but i dont think it is. at least it shouldnt be. just sucks, big pain in the... have all my wires under the tank run really nicely, now have to undo them. those bastards

AZDesertRat
10/16/2007, 09:19 AM
Stainless is rust resistant not rust proof in salt water. Get a titanium, it won't rust.

Freed
10/16/2007, 09:26 AM