PDA

View Full Version : jbj nano cube or bio cube???

cp3823
10/07/2007, 08:19 PM
What are all your opinions on the JBJ 12 gallon deluxe tank? I found a sweet deal on one that is only a month old for 100 bucks.

What are the pro's of this system??

What are the con's of the system??

What are the upgrades I could/should do to this system?

Should I get this or hold out and get something bigger/better??

I'm new to the s/w world and I'm looking to get started with a quality product. PLEASE HELP . What is recomended?

cp3823
10/07/2007, 08:56 PM
anybody??????????????????

AJO
10/07/2007, 09:04 PM
I have had my jbj 12gal. for two years, and it has been a great little tank. the first up grade I did is replace the stock pump with a mj1200 and remove the bio balls and ceramic rings from the back. It sounds like a good deal for only 100 bucks.

mystrybird
10/07/2007, 09:57 PM
I have the JBJ. There might be a reason for the person selling the tank after 1 month.

I have not had mine running in over 6 months. In fact, I just unplugged it one day and walked away. As I type, I look over at it and wonder how much longer it will take before the water completely evaporates!

For a while I had used it for a QT tank, then a reject tank, "critters that had been ejected from other tanks for bad behavior" It was not even good enough for them.

In my opinion, this is the most poorly designed set up in history! My cheapo outdoor water fountain/ bird bath had a better pump than the JBJ came with. You can replace it but that still will not solve the filtration problems. There really is no way to upgrade and correct the problem unless you are willing to put up with a hang on power filter attached to the front of the tank.