PDA

View Full Version : Questions about sump and rock

cap1384
09/24/2007, 09:12 PM
I am new to the hobby. Something sparked my intrest a few months ago. I have been doing what research i can, but i have a few questions....
1. I would like to set up a sump. I was wondering if there are limitations to the size of sump i can use. I'm not sure what size tank I am going to start with. I do know that I can not afford th 100g tank i would like to start with so if i start with a lets say 29 or 40g tank can I use a sump large enough to accomidate a larger tank for upgrading in the future.

2.Live Rock. I know that it is benifical to use live rock. but live rock would be a hard hit to my budget. I was wondering if i could use a non-live rock(i.e. lava rock or some other highly porus rock) to start with. won't the rock become live in time.

3. Protien Skimmer. can I use a larger skimmer for a larger tank on a smaller tank so i can upgrade my tank later (i.e. a skimmer for a 100g tank on a 29 - 40g tank)

Thank you in advance for your help. Any and all information is helpfull thank you again.......

bertoni
09/24/2007, 09:29 PM
[welcome]

The sump can be any size that you want.

People seem to use lava rock successfully. It'll become live enough to do filtration over time, from what I can tell. Base rock will also do the same, and it's often fairly inexpensive.

An oversized skimmer is unlikely to cause any problems.

Roger928
09/24/2007, 09:32 PM
Great reading here:
http://wetwebmedia.com/marine/index.htm

loosecannon
09/24/2007, 11:24 PM
Yes,No,Yes.

BangkokMatt
09/25/2007, 12:22 AM
To start with get the largest tank your budget will afford. If thats between the 29 and the 40 then go for the 40.
The sump canbe any size, the bigger the better as it will increase the amount of water you have.
Get live rock from the start. You will have to wait quite a while for lava rock etc to become live.